VanDerZanden receives AAUW-Iowa excellence award

Ann Marie VanDerZanden, professor of horticulture and director of Iowa State’s Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT) received the 2017 American Association of University Women-Iowa Faculty Excellence Award.                                        

The award, presented April 29 at AAUW-Iowa’s spring conference in Cedar Rapids, recognizes VanDerZanden’s efforts to create a climate of gender equity in Iowa’s higher education community. Criteria for the award include:

  • Excellence in teaching, advising, scholarship and service to the college/university and community
  • Continual efforts to develop new understandings and competencies in the winner’s discipline of expertise
  • Outstanding leadership in service, which addresses the needs of female students

VanDerZanden is an accomplished educator who has earned numerous awards for outstanding teaching, curricular innovations, as well as her efforts to promote the scholarship of learning and teaching through CELT. She is also a highly sought-after mentor to both students and faculty, and is one of a limited number of women to be selected as a fellow in the American Society for Horticultural Science.

VanDerZanden was nominated for the AAUW award by Surya Mallapragada, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor of Engineering ,and faculty fellow in the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost.