Administrative Search - Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine

Search Update

The Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost recently announced it is continuing its search for the next dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine. Additional updates, including a new timeline, will be available in the coming weeks.

Search Committee

The search committee is chaired by Beate Schmittmann, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Ann Marie VanDerZanden, associate provost for academic programs.


Internal search committee members:

  • Karin Allenspach-Jorn, veterinary clinical services
  • Amanda Fales-Williams, veterinary pathology
  • Deanna Gerber, student recruitment coordinator
  • Tom Johnson, director, Lloyd Veterinary Medical Center
  • Anumantha Kanthasamy, chair, biomedial sciences
  • Michael Kimber, biomedical sciences
  • Graciela Orantes, president, student chapter, American Veterinary Medical Association
  • Alejandro Ramirez, interim assistant dean
  • Jim Roth, veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • Jennifer Schleining, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine


External search committee members:

  • Randy Ackman, Iowa Veterinary Medical Association
  • Keith Aljets, Veterinary Medical Center, Williamsburg
  • Marcus Kehrli, USDA/ARS National Animal Disease Center
  • Clayton Kelling, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Marv Johnson, Dean's Advisory Council
  • Greg Lear, Iowa Livestock Health Advisory Council
  • Kylee Thomas, Iowa Veterinary Medical Association


Parker Executive Search is assisting the committee in its work.



Additional Resources