Distinguished Professor Recipients

The title of Distinguished Professor, first awarded in 1956, is Iowa State's highest academic honor. It recognizes a faculty member whose accomplishments in research or creative activities have had a significant impact on their discipline nationally or internationally and who has demonstrated outstanding performance in at least one other area of faculty responsibility. Nominees must hold the rank of professor and have served at least five years on the Iowa State faculty. The awardee retains the title for the remainder of their career at the university.

Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professorship in Agriculture and Life Sciences  
Kan Wang2024Agronomy
Christopher Tuggle2023Animal Science
Lance Baumgard2022Animal Science
Robert Jernigan2020Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology
GianCarlo Moschini2020Economics
Thomas Baum2017Plant Pathology, Entomology, and Microbiology
Dermot Hayes2017Economics/Finance
Jack C.M. Dekkers2013Animal Science
Patrick S. Schnable2013Agronomy
Kenneth J. Moore2011Agronomy
Rameshwar S. Kanwar2009Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
Robert Horton, Jr.2006Agronomy
Susan J. Lamont2004Animal Science
Donald C. Beitz1989Animal Science
Distinguished Professorship in Business   
Distinguished Professorship in Design  
Anson Marston Distinguished Professorship in Engineering  
Hui Hu2024Aerospace Engineering
Kejin Wang2023Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
Sri Sritharan2022Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
Xinwei Wang2022Mechanical Engineering
Duane Johnson2021Materials Science and Engineering
Manimaran Govindarasu2020Electrical and Computer Engineering
Valery Levitas2018Aerospace Engineering
Balaji Narasimhan2017Chemical and Biological Engineering
Surya Mallapragada2016Chemical and Biological Engineering
James McCalley2016Electrical and Computer Engineering
Brent Shanks2015Chemical and Biological Engineering
Vikram Dalal2014Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dan Shechtman2012Materials Science and Engineering
Rodney O. Fox2010Chemical and Biological Engineering
Steve W. Martin2009Materials Science and Engineering
Robert C. Brown2008Mechanical Engineering/Chemical and Biological Engineering/Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
Arun K. Somani2007Electrical and Computer Engineering
Distinguished Professorship in Human Sciences  
Gregory Welk2023Kinesiology
Distinguished Professorship in Liberal Arts and Sciences  
Michael Bailey2024History
Robyn Lutz2024Computer Science
James Vary2024Physics and Astronomy
Amy Bix2023History
Neal Iverson2023Geological and Atmospheric Sciences
Diane Bassham2022Genetics, Development, and Cell Biology
Douglas Gentile2022Psychology
Dean Adams2021Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology
Reuben Peters2021Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology
Matthew DeLisi2020Sociology and Criminal Justice
Pamela Riney-Kehrberg2020History
Michael Bugeja2019Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
Steven Kawaler2019Physics and Astronomy
Debra Marquart2019English
Theresa Windus2018Chemistry
Daniel Nettleton2015Statistics
Jonathan F. Wendel2012Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology
Alicia L. Carriquiry2010Statistics
Carol A. Chapelle2010English
Paul C. Canfield2006Physics and Astronomy
Craig A. Anderson2005Psychology
Mark S. Gordon1998Chemistry
Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professorship in Veterinary Medicine  
Qijing Zhang2018Veterinary Microbiology and Preventive Medicine
Richard Martin2016Biomedical Sciences
James A. Roth1995Veterinary Microbiology and Preventive Medicine

Last updated May 16, 2024