ASPIRE - The National Alliance for Inclusive & Diverse Stem Faculty

Association of Public Land-grant Universities’ Aspire Institutional Change (iChange) Initiative strengthens post-secondary institutions where science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) faculty from underrepresented groups are widely recruited, hired, and retained and all STEM faculty employ inclusive teaching, advising, and research mentoring. Aspire announced Iowa State University as a participant in Cohort 2 of iChange. The National Science Foundation funds this effort.

Course Material Affordability 

Several units across campus – including the University Library, University Book Store, Information Technology, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching, and the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost – are working to make course materials more affordable for Iowa State University's students.

Faculty Climate Workgroup 

The Faculty Experience Workgroup – led jointly by the Faculty Senate and the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost – will identify and take action on 3-5 issues of concern, identified by faculty, in response to recent results from the Campus Climate Survey.

Term Faculty Implementation 

New titles for term faculty have been approved by the Faculty Senate, senior vice president and provost, and president, and became effective July 1, 2019.

New Student Onboarding

Created in December 2016, the New Student Onboarding Task Force, led jointly by the Division of Student Affairs and Division of Academic Affairs, is reviewing the onboarding process and will recommend changes for improvement.

Academic Affairs Campus Climate Initiatives

The Division of Academic Affairs is committed to fostering a diverse, equitable, and inclusive environment for Iowa State’s students, faculty, staff, and visitors. This ongoing commitment is present in every academic college and unit, and is reported annually to the Provost’s Office. 

COVID-19 Communication Archive



Campanile and spring blossoms