Faculty Climate Workgroup

In 2018, Iowa State University President Wendy Wintersteen has charged four implementation teams with developing initiatives that improve the experience of undergraduate students, graduate students and postdoctoral scholars, faculty, and merit and professional and scientific employees. The Faculty Experience Workgroup – led jointly by the Faculty Senate and the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost – will identify and take action on 3-5 issues of concern, identified by faculty, in response to recent results from the Campus Climate Survey.

The Workgroup's report (PDF) is available on the Faculty Senate website.

Open forums held to solicit input from faculty

Two open forums were held to solicit input on potential climate initiatives. Members of the workgroup will provide a high-level review of results from the COACHE and Campus Climate surveys and solicit ideas for maintaining and improving a positive faculty experience at Iowa State.

Workgroup membership

  • Jonathan Wickert, senior vice president and provost (co-chair)
  • Peter Martin, Faculty Senate president (co-chair)
  • Claire Andreasen, professor, veterinary medicine
  • Dawn Bratsch-Prince, associate provost for faculty
  • Brenda Lohman, associate dean, human sciences
  • Cameron Rayburn, lecturer, engineering
  • Jane Rongerude, associate professor, design
  • Jose Rosa, professor, Ivy College of Business
  • Meifen Wei, professor, liberal arts and sciences