Academic Advising

University Academic Advising Committee

The University Academic Advising Committee serves as a voice for Academic Advisers to the university community including the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost and relevant university committees and offices, on issues related to the student academic experience and the needs of academic advisers. The Committee includes both faculty and professional advisers. The Committee achieves its mission through the following committee charge.

UAAC Committee Charge

  • Promote collaboration, learning and sharing of advising best practices across campus
  • Provide and promote professional development opportunities for advisers
  • Represent the concerns and issues of academic advising to administration and others as appropriate 
  • Conduct institutional assessments of advising including both adviser and student input

Activity: The University Academic Advising Committee meets once a month throughout the academic year. Meetings are open to all advisers at ISU. 

Chairs: Co-chairs will be appointed by the Provost’s Office. The Co-Chairs for the 2020-21 academic year are: Joel Johnson and Jess DeWall.

Canvas: UAAC has created a centralized site for information sharing and updates on the University’s CANVAS platform. The site contains UAAC meeting agendas/minutes as well as adviser training materials, and recorded training webinars.

Professional Development Activities

The Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost is committed to supporting the ongoing professional development of the university’s academic advisers by providing support to UAAC’s Professional Development Committee. In a typical year, the Professional Development Committee sponsors these events:  

  • Advising Recognition Reception (spring): a celebration of the hard work of the advising community in the past year with food, merriment, and an acknowledgment of those who have received college advising awards, P&S Council awards/Cytations, university-wide advising awards, Learning Community awards, and/or honors from professional organizations
  • Advising Summit (fall): a day-long, on-campus conference that typically features a keynote address, presentations, networking, and discussions on resources, best practices, and trends which affect our students and the advising committee
  • NACADA Webinars: on-campus viewing/processing sessions that build on the regular webinars hosted by NACADA: National Academic Advising Association
  • Lunch and Learns: presentations by advisers and campus partners about resources and best practices (similar to those at the Summit), spread throughout the year.

Advising Awards

Members:  Committee members will be appointed by their respective college or academic unit and will serve a one-year term. Reappointment to this committee is possible.