The Fulbright Program

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the United States government. Its purpose is to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries through citizen diplomacy.

The Fulbright Program awards about 8000 grants annually to citizens from the United States and 160 other countries. Grantees are chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential in their field. Since its inception, about 370,000 participants have been awarded the opportunity to study, teach, conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. Grants are available for graduating college seniors, graduate students, young professionals, scholars, artists, and other professionals.

Program History and Participation

  • Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by Senator J. William Fulbright
  • Sponsored by United States Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA)
  • Awards approximately 8,000 grants annually in over 160 countries

Fulbright Grant Categories

The "Fulbright Program" encompasses a variety of exchange programs. 

Local Resources

  • Fulbright Association Iowa Chapter: Do you want to know about Fulbright networking events, conferences, social gatherings, and workshops? Events take place year-round in Ames, Des Moines, and around the state.
  • Fulbright Students and Scholars at ISU: The goal of this ISU student organization is to create support structures, awareness, interest, and opportunities for current, former and prospective Fulbrighters at ISU and within the Fulbright program worldwide.






    Register for a Fulbright Webinar

    Iowa State named a top producer of Fulbright Scholars

    ISU Guidelines for Managing U.S. Fulbright Awards (PDF, 190KB) 

    Questions or comments about the Fulbright Program, contact:,
    (202) 632-3238

    ISU Contacts

    For students:

    Gene Newgaard,


    For faculty and other professionals:

    Dawn Bratsch-Prince,

    Sandra Norvell,

    Fulbright Association Iowa Chapter:

    Sonia Gunderson,