The Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost actively encourages faculty to apply and nominate others for external award opportunities. National honorific awards are administered by many professional societies and governing bodies and provide essential recognition for career advancement. Contact Kirsten Abel, kabel@iastate.edu, for more information 

2022 Awards by the Numbers

Explore opportunities for your career:

     Interdisciplinary Opportunities

How to apply: Membership in the highly prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences is made by a members-only annual election process. For questions, contact Kirsten Abel, kabel@iastate.edu or 515-294-1498.


Award Recipients

Paul Canfield

Patricia Thiel

How to apply: ACLS fellowships support academic research in all fields of the humanities and social sciences, online applications are accepted annually typically with a fall deadline. For questions, contact: Sandra Norvell, snorvell@iastate.edu or 515-294-1594.

Award Recipients


Nell Gabiam

Carnegie Fellows: The Andrew Carnegie fellows program provides support for research in the humanities and social sciences. Nominations are permitted only from nominators designated by the Carnegie Corporation. For questions, contact: Sandra Norvellsnorvell@iastate.edu or 515-294-1594.

Award Recipients

Amy Erica Smith


The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program offers multiple awards in teaching and research in over 125 countries. Please refer to the Iowa State guidelines for managing Fulbright awards. For questions, contact: Sandra Norvell, snorvell@iastate.edu or 515-294-1594.


Award Recipients

David Acker - Specialist
Dean Adams- Scholar
Tunde Adeleke- Distinguished Professor
Samantha Cross - Specialist
Rodney Fox- Distinguished Chair
Joey George - Scholar
Ted Grevstad-Norbrock- Scholar
Shenglan Zhang- Scholar

2020/2021 Compiled
Carol Chapelle - Core Scholar
Johnny DiBlasi - Core Scholar
Daniela Dimitrova - Core Scholar
Elizabeth Elmi - Core Scholar
David Jiles - Core Scholar
Joanne Marshall - Core Scholar
Ellen McKinney - Core Scholar
Megan Myers - Core Scholar
Charles Nagle - Core Scholar
Aaron Sadow - Core Scholar
Curtis Youngs - Specialist

Tina Coffelt- Core Scholar
Jacek Koziel- Specialist
Ryan Martin- Core Scholar
Gary Munkvold- Specialist

Past Award Recipients


Jefferson Science Fellows: The highly competitive JSF program is administered by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine and supported by the U.S Department of State and the U.S agency for International Development (USAID), the online application process typically closes in October. For questions, contact Kirsten Abelkabel@iastate.edu or 515-294-1498.

Award Recipients

Rameshwar Kanwar
Richard Lesar

How to apply: Nomination of MacArthur Fellows is made through a highly confidential, invitation only process. For questions, contact Kirsten Abelkabel@iastate.edu or 515-294-1498.

Award Recipients


Lisa Schulte Moore


National Endowment for the Humanities offers a range of competitive awards granted to scholars pursuing research in various areas. For questions, contact Sandra Norvell, snorvell@iastate.edu, 515-294-1594.


Award Recipients

Christina Gish Hill

Past Recipients


Discipline Society Fellows

Elevation to fellow status is an honor reserved for those individuals who have established themselves with distinction in their respective fields. Professional fellows are recognized for their outstanding contributions in many areas such as research, teaching, or service to the profession. Search for opportunities by discipline area (EXCEL, 38KB).



American Chemical Society Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Division Fellow
Brent Shanks
Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Marcus Crede
The Medieval Academy of America
Michael Bailey


American Academy of Forensic Sciences
Yong Guan
American Epilepsy Society
Thimmasettapp Thippeswamy
American Geophysical Union
Robert Horton
American Phytopathological Society
Steven Whitham
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Reuben Peters
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers
Matt Helmers
Raj Raman
American Society of Agronomy
Sotirios Archontoulis
Kathleen Delate
American Society of Animal Science
Jack Dekkers
Steven Lonergan
Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association
Arun Somani
European Academy of Arts and Sciences
Rameshwar Kanwar
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Robyn Lutz 
International Academy of Food Science and Technology
Dong Uk Ahn 
National Academies of Practice, Distinguished Fellow
Paul Plummer
Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society
Donald Beitz
Society of Behavioral Medicine
Alison Phillips
Soil and Water Conservation Society
J. Arbuckle





Academy of American Poets - Poet Laureate
Debra Marquart
American Chemical Society
Javier Vela
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics - Associate
Ossama Abdelkhalik
American Institute of Chemical Engineers
Surya Mallapragada
Balaji Narasimhan
American Physical Society
Jigang Wang
American Society for Nondestructive Testing
Stephen Holland
American Society of Animal Science
Elizabeth Huff Lonergan
James Reecy
American Society of Civil Engineers
Halil Ceylan
American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Nicole Hashemi
American Society of Tropical Medicine
Brad Blitvich
American Statistical Association
Lily Wang
Ecological Society of America
Lisa Schulte Moore
Food Systems Leadership Institute
Thomas Baum
Jason Ross
Institute for Research in the Humanities
Julia Dominguez
Institute of Mathematical Statistics
Dan Nordman


Past Recipients




Have you received an award? Report your award.