Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 2019-2020 Year 4 Assurance Review

As a part of the normal Open Pathway accreditation process with the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), Iowa State University will be going through a “Year 4 Assurance Review” in February 2020. This review will be conducted by a team of peer reviewers electronically; there is no campus visit as a part of this review. The team will review an updated version of the Assurance Argument that was prepared as a part of the Higher Learning Commission Comprehensive Review that occurred during 2015-2016.

A 2019-2020 HLC Steering Committee was formed to facilitate the development of the updated Assurance Argument. Committee members are as follows:

  • Surya Mallapragada, Associate Vice President of Research
  • Sara Marcketti, Director of Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
  • Matt Pistilli, Division of Student Affairs
  • Ellen Rasmussen, Division of Finance and University Services
  • Rob Schweers, Director of Communications, Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost
  • Brad Skaar, Associate Professor, Animal Science, Higher Learning Commission Peer Reviewer
  • Amy Slagell, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Ann Marie VanDerZanden, Associate Provost for Academic Programs
  • Courtney Vengrin, Adjunct Assistant Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine, Chair of Faculty Senate Outcomes Assessment Committee
  • Karen Zunkel, Director of Academic Quality and Undergraduate Education, Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost, Steering Committee Chair

Questions can be directed to Shawn Boyne at smboyne@iastate.edu.


Two students sharing earbuds