News and Events

Campanile in winter

SVPP hours

Nov 20, 2020

Hours of operation for November 23, 2020 to January 18, 2021

Required syllabus statement on free expression

Nov 11, 2020

Iowa State has created a new, required syllabus statement that affirms the university's commitment to students' freedom of expression.

Search for library dean begins

Oct 15, 2020

Iowa State is launching the search for its next dean of the University Library, including the selection of a search committee and co-chairs.

Peter K. Dorhout named VPR

Sep 24, 2020

Peter K. Dorhout from Kansas State University has been named Iowa State's next vice president for research. Dorhout, a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and former president of the American Chemical Society, will begin his tenure in Ames by Jan. 25, 2021.

FY2020 Academic Affairs Diversity and Inclusion Report

Sep 23, 2020

The FY2020 report highlights numerous initiatives taking place in the colleges, departments, and academic support units – including the University Library, VPR, Extension and Outreach, Enrollment Management, and the Ames Laboratory – as well as collaborations with colleagues across campus.

36 faculty honored for teaching innovations during the spring semester

Sep 17, 2020

The awards, which includes a one-time $1,000 award, recognize the extraordinary efforts of Iowa State faculty to  quickly and successfully pivot to virtual instruction during the spring. Funding for the program was provided by an anonymous donor to support faculty excellence.