Exemplary Faculty Mentor Awardees Citations

Twelve Iowa State faculty were honored May 2, 2018, for their service as mentors.

The Exemplary Faculty Mentor Award recognizes faculty mentors who go above and beyond the formal expectations of Iowa State’s mentoring program. Winners are nominated by their “mentees” for the positive impact they have made in their lives and careers.    

The honorees included:

  • Carolyn Cutrona, Professor and Chair of Psychology
  • Anne Foegen, Professor and DOGE of the School of Education
  • Neal Iverson, Professor of Geological and Atmospheric Sciences
  • William Jenks, Professor and Chair of Chemistry
  • Susan Lamont, Distinguished Professor of Animal Science
  • Raj Raman, Morrill Professor of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • Elisa Rizo, Associate Professor of Spanish in World Languages and Cultures
  • Emily Smith, Professor of Chemistry
  • Ann Marie VanDerZanden, Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Louis Thompson Distinguished Undergraduate Teacher, and Professor of Horticulture
  • Stacy Weber-Feve, Associate Professor of French in World Languages and Cultures
  • Hongwei Xin, Assistant Dean for Research in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Yanhai Yin, Professor of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology

Iowa State’s formal mentoring program for new faculty began as a project of the Senior Vice President and Provost office in the late 1990’s; 2018 is the fifth year for the Exemplary Faculty Mentor Awards.

Previous awardees