Rossmann Manatt Faculty Development Award

Purpose: The Rossmann Manatt Award is designed to recognize a College of Agriculture and Life Sciences or College of Human Sciences tenured faculty member who has demonstrated a truly exceptional level of creativity and productivity in scholarship, teaching, and service and who shows great promise of continuing such achievement. 

Eligibility: Tenured faculty in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences or College of Human Sciences. The award will alternate between the two colleges. College of Agriculture and Life Sciences faculty members may be nominated in even-numbered years, with the award being presented in odd-numbered years. College of Human Sciences faculty members may be nominated in odd-numbered years, with the award being given in even-numbered years. 

Nature of the award: One-time award ($5,000-10,000 determined by the maximum income available as generated from the endowment) is intended to facilitate faculty development activities. The award period shall begin on July 1 of the year in which they are selected, although expenditures may be approved in advance under special circumstances. Funds awarded must be entirely spent within two years following the start of the award period.

Number of awards: One

Guidelines for Submitting Nominations for the Rossmann Manatt Faculty Development Award:

Each college will establish its own internal vetting process, but the nomination should include a cover sheet, letter of nomination summarizing how the candidate meets the award eligibility, a nominee statement briefly describing the use of the stipend, and the nominee’s current curriculum vita.

Please visit the appropriate website for college-specific guidelines, deadlines and cover sheet: College of Agriculture and Life Sciences/College of Human Sciences.

2018Jennifer MargrettHuman Sciences
2017Kevin SchalinskeAgriculture and Life Sciences
2016Kimberly GrederHuman Sciences
2015Bryony BonningAgriculture and Life Sciences
2014Sara MarckettiHuman Sciences
2013Susan CarpenterAgriculture and Life Sciences
2012Warren FrankeHuman Sciences
2011Steven LonerganAgriculture and Life Sciences
2010Jean ParsonsHuman Sciences
2009Robert HortonAgriculture and Life Sciences
2008Linda NiehmHuman Sciences
2007Susan LamontAgriculture and Life Sciences
2006Laura RendonHuman Sciences